Reduce TGA size

IL-2 Modding help (not 3D modding):
Forum rules
IL-2 Modding help (not 3D and mapping help).
Post Reply
User avatar
CWatson
FM Modding Expert
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 5:34 am

Reduce TGA size

Post by CWatson » Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:14 am

What procedure and programs do you guys use to reduce TGA file sizes?

Thanks again,
CW
"To keep the animals around you at bay you must be willing to be a monster."

"When burning bridges, leave them with one impression, how pretty the colors were."
Image
User avatar
Tyger
Site Admin/FM Team
Posts: 409
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 10:52 pm

Re: Reduce TGA size

Post by Tyger » Sat Jun 15, 2019 6:01 am

In Photoshop (7)

Image / Image size ... in the pop up box that appears make sure the "constrain Proportions" box has a tick in it - when you enter your desired size in the Width box it will automatically change the size in the Height box to match, then click ok

Un-ticking the Constrain Proportions box means you have to manually enter the figures to both boxes - handy if you're wanting two different (rectangular) sizes - rather than an equal (square) size.
I am strongly in favour of common sense, common honesty, and common decency, this makes me forever ineligible for public office.

Wolves care nothing for the opinions of sheep - be a Wolf in life.


Image
User avatar
Mick
Posts: 835
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 8:48 am

Re: Reduce TGA size

Post by Mick » Sat Jun 15, 2019 7:39 am

... I use a free prog, FastStone Image Viewer, very user friendly, but if the TGA has an alpha layer, it won't be saved once downsized ... :oops:

But as long as the TGA is 3 Mb or smaller, no prob ... ;)

https://www.faststone.org/
slipper
Site Admin/FM Team
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 10:19 pm

Re: Reduce TGA size

Post by slipper » Sat Jun 15, 2019 8:02 am

CW pm sent mate ;)
Image
queque
FM Beta Tester
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2016 4:47 pm

Re: Reduce TGA size

Post by queque » Sat Jun 15, 2019 8:54 am

CWatson wrote:
Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:14 am
What procedure and programs do you guys use to reduce TGA file sizes?
I use this old application, DXTBmp.exe.

http://www.mwgfx.co.uk/programs/dxtbmp.htm

Un saludo.
User avatar
CWatson
FM Modding Expert
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 5:34 am

Re: Reduce TGA size

Post by CWatson » Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:35 pm

Thanks for all the suggestions guys. I will see if I can apply them and produce what I am trying to do.

Thanks again,
CW
"To keep the animals around you at bay you must be willing to be a monster."

"When burning bridges, leave them with one impression, how pretty the colors were."
Image
User avatar
Ice_Eagle
FM Special Modder
Posts: 1455
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: Reduce TGA size

Post by Ice_Eagle » Sun Jun 16, 2019 1:04 am

Photoshop would be the first choice.
Akrivós epeidí chásate to spíti sas den simaínei óti boreíte na ourísete stin avlí mou
Image
Image
User avatar
CWatson
FM Modding Expert
Posts: 238
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 5:34 am

Re: Reduce TGA size

Post by CWatson » Sun Jun 16, 2019 1:47 am

The program suggested by Mick solved my current issue, however I will have to check out Photoshop for a couple more complex things.

Thanks for the suggestions guys.

CWatson
"To keep the animals around you at bay you must be willing to be a monster."

"When burning bridges, leave them with one impression, how pretty the colors were."
Image
Post Reply

Return to “Modding Help (not 3D)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests